Skip to content

All New Scottish

27/08/2009

Just received my contributor’s copies of Poetry Scotland issue 62. “All New Scottish” consists entirely of work by writers from Scotland who haven’t featured in the magazine before. I have two poems in there: “MacAdam’s Lament for Island Life” and “Onding”. Hard to believe, perhaps, that I’ve never been in PS, but I’d just never submitted before.

I’ve not yet taken a close look at much of the work in this issue but, on the first page, I liked the wry wit and imagination of Eddie Gibbons‘s “Certain Things”. Good to see Ross Wilson has a piece in it too. I liked his recent work in Horizon.

Sally Evans, the PS editor, also sent me issue 61 — “Just One Bookshop”  — which promises to be good. Marion McCready has several poems in it; there are pieces by Colin Will; and Katy Evans-Bush‘s marvellous “Richard Price” graces the back page. Worth getting hold of for that one alone, and PS costs only £1.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/08/2009 09:25

    Thanks for the mention, I enjoyed your poems and I’m liking the new website 🙂

    • Andrew Philip permalink
      28/08/2009 10:18

      No problem, Marion. Glad you like the site!

    • Andrew Philip permalink
      28/08/2009 10:44

      Oh and congrats on being the first to comment at the new site!

  2. 28/08/2009 10:54

    Do I get a prize? lol

  3. 28/08/2009 11:08

    Hey Andy, you kept that quiet – or, in general Facebook disgrace mode, did I miss that too… but this is absolutely beautiful! I LOVE it. I think WordPress is just much better-looking than blogspot, and it feels more flexible to use, as well.

    I’ll poke around in your other pages and see what’s what, but I just wanted to say this is great. Having set up the odd new blog in my time, I know how much work you’ve put into it. AND with a new baby in the house… !

  4. Andrew Philip permalink
    28/08/2009 11:28

    You missed it, Katy, but only a few days ago so no disgrace! Glad you like it and I totally agree about WordPress vs Blogger.

Leave a Reply

