Skip to content

2010 National and Arvon Poetry Competitions


Here’s some competition news, by way of public service blog announcement.

This year’s National Poetry Competition is already open for entries. The judges this year are the estimable George Szirtes, Deryn Rees-Jones and Sinéad Morrissey. The prizes are: £5,000 for the overall winner, £2,000 for the second, £1,000 for the third and seven commendations of £100. The deadline is 31 October and you can enter online or download an entry form and enter by post. If I can get my act together, I might give it a shot again this year!

Another competition well worth considering is the Arvon, which runs every two years. This year, chair of the judges will be Carol Ann Duffy. The first prize has increased from £5000 to £7,500, making it one of the largest available for a single poem, apparently and certainly getting ahead of the National. Entries open in a few days’ time on 13 May, when more information will be available on the Arvon website.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: