Skip to content

Silk Road: Sitting at the Literary Crossroads

26/09/2011

On Saturday, I had the unusual experience of simultaneously receiving a rejection and my latest publication. I won’t say which magazine the rejection was from, but the publication was in Silk Road, an American magazine whose poetry editor was, until recently, Robert Peake.

It’s a well produced magazine, full of completely unfamiliar names to me, although there are one or two that I recognise from Facebook. Robert took two poems of mine: “Nocturne to 60 in 10 Seconds” and “MacAdam Takes to the Sea”. (The latter, of course, is also a filmpoem by Alistair Cook, which you can see here, and which Robert kindly mentioned in this recent blog post, but this is the first time the text has appeared in print.)

I had a read through all the poems in Saturday’s warm sun — my apologies to the short story writers in the magazine! So far my favourites are Dawn Manning’s “White Rabbit” and the translation of Ahmed Uysal’s “Broken Triplets” by Nesrin Eruysal and Ken Fifer for the strength of their lyricism.

Much of the poetry in the publication is in the mainstream anecdotal mode, but Dawn Manning’s has a music that lifts it above the bulk of similar pieces of writing. I would definitely be interested to see more of her work.

Those certainly aren’t the only poems I enjoyed and, of course, others may grow on me more if I reread them. There is quite an impressive sweep of geographical settings for the poems, and it will be interesting to see how they interact with the short stories when I get round to reading those.

Now, away sit yourself down at this particular literary crossroads.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

