Skip to content

Pushing the Cart Out

17/12/2011

Goodness, it’s been a ghost town in this here corner of the blogosphere lately, hasn’t it? Things have been rather exhausting over the past wee while, hence the radio silence. I’m afraid I won’t manage to give you a report on everything past, but I am back to give you a bit more news.

Those lovely people at Silk Road Review have nominated me for a Pushcart Prize. They chose my poem “Nocturne to 60 in 10 Seconds”, from vol 6.2 of SRR as one of their six nominations for this year’s Pushcarts. They nominated only two poems, the other one being “Where” by Loretta Obstfeld from the same issue. You can read her poem here, but you’ll have to buy the magazine to read mine.

This is rather old news, really, give that I heard at the start of the month. But it’s nonetheless still news worth sharing. The Pushcarts are an annual prize that celebrate work that has appeared in little magazines and small press publications in America. There’s an anthology of the winners each year.

If I was in the US, I’d probably know very well what the timescale was for announcing the winners. As far as I can tell, it seems like that happens around March and the anthology is out in the autumn. (I’m sure my American readers will correct me if I’ve picked that up wrongly.) Given that timescale, I can’t do much other than hold it lightly!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/12/2011 23:38

    Congratulations, Andy. I’d expect to start hearing news in spring. Bonne chance!

    • Andrew Philip permalink*
      17/12/2011 23:40

      Thank you, Robert. As you know, it wouldn’t have happened without you taking the poem in the first place!

Leave a Reply

