Skip to content

Back in the Saddle

12/03/2012

Ah, it’s good to be back! Sorry I’ve neglected the blog over the past while, but my Poetry School online course swallowed up all blogging time over the past couple of months.

It was also good to be back to reading at 10Red in Edinburgh on Wednesday last week. (I apologise to all, especially Kevin Cadwallender, the organiser, that I didn’t manage to promote it forby a couple of Facebook statuses.) Following the numerical theme — 10 poets reading for 10 minutes — I read my “10×10” sequence, first published in Gutter and republished in The Best British Poetry 2011. I didn’t fell I gave my best reading, but it seemed to go down well.

10Red was a good line-up of page and performance poets. Unsurprising, given that Kevin straddles the divide, and does so well. My favourite readings of the night were from Rob A Mackenzie and Andy Jackson.  I also particularly enjoyed hearing Ross Wilson read from his pamphlet, Stephen Welsh and, from the more performance bed of the poetry garden, Sophia.

Next month’s line-up also looks really good. I’d particularly like to hear Ryan Van Winkle, whom I haven’t heard in a good while, and Gerry Cambridge, whom I haven’t heard since we were at Cove Park. Go along. You’ll be supporting a great wee publishing house, Red Squirrel Press, if you do and you’re guaranteed a good night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/04/2012 19:05

    It was a fab online course, Andy. Can’t say thanks enough.

    • Andrew Philip permalink*
      03/04/2012 19:51

      Thanks, Nichola! It was lovely to have you on it and I thoroughly enjoyed your poems. Hope the writing is going well.

Leave a Reply

