Skip to content

Easter Greetings!

08/04/2012

I wish you all the blessings of the Easter season — and none of the abdominal complaints that may accompany it!

As has become all too customary on this blog, I also apologise for my absence. After celebrating being back in the saddle, I was knocked out of commission by a bout of tonsillitis, which kept me from going to the StAnza festival in St Andrews. Since then, the sheer busyness of the day job and dealing with several family illnesses have kept me away from the blog.

As compensation, here is an Easter poem from The Ambulance Box:

x

The Road from Emmaus

Didn’t our hearts burn within us
while he talked with us on the road?

And, suddenly as he came,
he disappears,
xxxxxxxxxxxxxleaving us

like timbersxxxglowing after conflagration,
apt at any moment
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxto collapse;

or red-hot ironxxxhammered into shape,
aware
xxxxxxxthat, as we cool,
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxwe harden.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Renita permalink
    08/04/2012 21:52

    . . .hammered into shape, aware that, as we cool, we harden.

    Wondrous. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 08/04/2012 21:57

    So much in so little.

    I’m clearly not qualified to comment on your poem and you almost certainly don’t want comments on your poem, but fwiw, I enjoyed reading it and am enjoying thinking about it, wondering what’s in the seeming contradictions.

    I am also very interested in your lineation. Would you be prepared to give some insight into your approach to lineation, in general and in this poem in particular?

    I hope everyone’s recovered in time to eat a lot of chocolate.

    Happy Easter

    Cathy

    • Andrew Philip permalink*
      23/04/2012 22:01

      Hi Cathy,

      Glad you like it so much. I’ll try to post something about lineation at some point in response. In the meantime, I posted a few, fairly abstract notes here: http://wp.me/pBKHO-5H

      Andy

Leave a Reply

