Skip to content

Holiday Poetry Reads Revisited

30/06/2013

It’s that time of the year again when the newspapers start bringing out their holiday reading recommendations and ignoring poetry even more than usual. Don’t believe me? Then look at The Guardian‘s list, which is split into sections this year: fiction, crime and non-fiction.

To be frank, I’m fed up with this. So I’m reviving my holiday poetry reads strand of posts. I’ll be getting in touch with some poets and fiction writers in the next week or so and, hopefully, we’ll get together an interesting bunch of recommendations for everyone. Meanwhile, take a look at Gareth Prior’s post on the same subject.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/07/2013 10:58

    Really good point – and I love Gareth’s post. Perfect time for people to explore a much-ignored way of thinking about the world…

    How about a series of posts suggesting who/what to read depending on where you’re going/what kind of holiday you’re having? I love trying to match things to where I’m off to, though it’s generally done in the bluntest, most regional way (ie, going to the Hebrides: Kathleen Jamie)…

    • Andrew Philip permalink*
      01/07/2013 11:20

      Nice idea. If I was going to the Hebrides, I’d be more likely to take Sorley MacLean, Iain Crichton Smith, Meg Bateman or Rody Gorman.

      • Andrew Philip permalink*
        01/07/2013 14:48

        As I’m going to Northumberland this year, I might take Bunting’s Briggflats with me.

Leave a Reply

